Skip to content ↓

Welcome to

St Albans Girls' School

Health and Social Care

Curriculum Intent and Overview
Health & Social Care at STAGS provides students with the opportunity to explore a combined vocational and academic pathway, ensuring they have a breadth of knowledge within differing roles and career routes within the sector. We provide a dynamic and vocational study to prepare students for higher education or develop transferable employability skills ready for a role within the healthcare environment. The study of care values and the different health care services supports our students in the development of skills so that they can thrive as educated citizens and can make a positive contribution to society.



BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care (360 GLH)

The Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care aims to provide a balanced study programme for learners who are interested in learning about the health and social care sector.

BTEC Nationals require applied learning that brings together knowledge and understanding, with practical and technical skills. This is achieved through learners performing vocational tasks that encourage the development of appropriate vocational behaviours and transferable skills. Transferable skills are those such as communication, teamwork, research and analysis, which are valued in both higher education and the workplace.

Lead Practitioner - Miss K Hare
Subject Teacher - Mrs E Lambert


What will be studied:

The Extended Certificate is equivalent to one A-Level and offers a broad basis of study for the health and social care sector. This qualification is designed to support progression to higher education when taken alongside A Levels.

How is this course assessed?

Across the two years learners will undertake four units, two internal and two external. Of these units, three are mandatory and one is optional. Mandatory content equals 83%, whilst external assessment is 58% of the overall qualification.

The mandatory content:

  •  Unit 1: Human Lifespan Development (90 GLH) - external exam
  •  Unit 2: Working in Health & Social Care (120 GLH) - external exam
  •  Unit 5: Meeting Individual Care & Support Needs (90 GLH) - synoptic internal assessment

Optional content:

  •  Unit 12: Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs (60 GLH) - internal assessment

Grading for units and qualifications

Achievement in the qualification requires a demonstration of depth of study in each unit, assured acquisition of a range of practical skills required for employment or progression to higher education, and successful development of transferable skills.

Learners achieving a qualification will have achieved across mandatory units, including external and synoptic assessment. The qualification carries UCAS points and is recognised by higher education institutions as contributing to meeting admission requirements to many relevant courses.

The overall qualification grading includes:

BTEC Grade

A Level Grade Equivalent

UCAS Points

Distinction* (D*)



Distinction (D)



Merit (M)



Pass (P)




Units are assessed using a grading scale of Distinction (D), Merit (M), Pass (P),and Unclassified (U). All mandatory and optional units contribute proportionately to the overall qualification grade, for example a unit of 120 GLH will contribute double that of a 60 GLH unit.


What could this qualification lead to?

Learners will be able to progress to an Apprenticeship or University choosing from a range of programmes in the health and social care sector. It can be taken alongside, for example:

  •  A Levels in Biology and Psychology, which could lead to a BSc (Hons) in Nursing
  •  A Levels in English and History, which could lead to a BA (Hons) in Primary Education


Students from previous years have gone onto study a diverse range of subjects at university including: Nursing and Midwifery, Physiotherapy, Social Work and Dietetics.

Get in touch

Mr P O'Neill

Sandridgebury Lane

St Albans



(To request a paper copy, please contact our Administration Department)

01727 853134