Skip to content ↓

Welcome to

St Albans Girls' School

House System

Our House System provides a supportive environment that encourages friendly competition, provides opportunities for students to assume responsibility and develop leadership abilities and one that enables students to make a positive contribution to their local community.

We promote achievement of all students in its widest forms in a totally positive way, from the classroom to the sports field and helping out around the school to Drama productions. It is also a way of developing vertical integration in the school to complement the horizontal integration that the year system provides.

The House identity is highlighted by regular assemblies where the House Captains develop the Enterprise Skills of Leadership, Communication and Teamwork through the active participation of all students. Also each House has a House motif on the school blouse so that it is clear to all students which House they belong to. Each House has an achievements notice board to promote celebration of success.

Our House system is praised as an aspect of our school that is valued by students. We believe that not only does it teach students important skills it develops in them a true sense of school community. The commitment of the House system to fund raising for good causes is central to our teaching of good citizenship.


The Austen House Captains for 2020-2021 are:

Ffion John, Sahira Saleemi, Kate Smith

The Austen House colour is red.


The Bronte House Captains for 2020-2021 are:

Nia Boty, Mel Brown, Bethany Moss

The Bronte House colour is yellow.


The Curie House Captains for 2020-2021 are:

Emma Furner, Ottillie Hinde, Katherine Hunter

The Curie House colour is green.


The Franklin House Captains for 2020-2021 are:  

Rebecca Adu-Poku, Namam Kadir, Lucy McCullough 

The Franklin House colour is orange.


The Hepworth House Captains for 2020-2021 are: 

Zoe Marks, Grace Penny, Jasmine Price

The Hepworth House colour is blue.


The Johnson House Captains for 2020-2021 are:  

Shakreen Miah, Samiha Thakur, Charlotte Wells

The Johnson House colour is silver.


The Parks House Captains for 2020-2021 are:

Abbie Kleiner-Mann, Lily Stephens, Naviek Walia

The Parks House Colour is pink.


The Seacole House Captains for 2020 - 2021 are:

Sienna Barnes, Anisah Choudhuri, Ella Volans

The House Colour for Seacole is purple.

House Champions

  • 2018-2019: Bronte
  • 2017-2018: Curie
  • 2016-2017: Austen
  • 2015-2016: Seacole
  • 2014-2015: Hepworth
  • 2013-2014: Franklin
  • 2012-2013: Franklin
  • 2011-2012: Hepworth

House Charities 2020-2021

Each House has a charity that it is raising money and awareness for throughout the year, but in particular during their House Charity Weeks.  Each House has the target to raise £1,000 for their selected charity.  This year they are supporting:

Get in touch

HR Department

Sandridgebury Lane

St Albans



01727 853134