Skip to content ↓

Welcome to

St Albans Girls' School

The House System

Our House System provides a supportive environment that encourages friendly competition, provides opportunities for students to assume responsibility and develop leadership abilities and one that enables students to make a positive contribution to their local community.

We promote achievement of all students in its widest forms in a totally positive way, from the classroom to the sports field and helping out around the school to Drama productions. It is also a way of developing vertical integration in the school to complement the horizontal integration that the year system provides.

The House identity is highlighted by regular assemblies where the House Captains develop the Enterprise Skills of Leadership, Communication and Teamwork through the active participation of all students. Also each House has a House motif on the school blouse so that it is clear to all students which House they belong to. Each House has an achievements notice board to promote celebration of success.

Our House system is praised as an aspect of our school that is valued by students. We believe that not only does it teach students important skills it develops in them a true sense of school community. The commitment of the House system to fund raising for good causes is central to our teaching of good citizenship.


The Austen House Captains for 2021-2022 are:

Carla Creasy, Leah Salhan and Evie Moule

The Austen House colour is red.


The Bronte House Captains for 2021-2022 are:

Varisha Haque, Zarah Hussain and Ellen Reid

The Bronte House colour is yellow.



The Curie House Captains for 2021-2022 are:

Molly Lewis, Gabriela Templeman-Gamboa and Emma Turnbull

The Curie House colour is green.



The Franklin House Captains for 2021-2022 are:  

Edie Shakespeare, Cora Hudson and Molly Young

The Franklin House colour is orange.



The Hepworth House Captains for 2021-2022 are: 

Mia Aikman, Sadie-Belle Blakeley and Maddie Howlett

The Hepworth House colour is blue.



The Johnson House Captains for 2021-2022 are:  

Scarlett Burgess, Inaya Haque and Samiya Munim

The Johnson House colour is silver.


The Parks House Captains for 2021-2022 are:

Suhani Chaudhary, Palak Gupta and Sarah Iqbal

The Parks House Colour is pink.


The Seacole House Captains for 2021-2022 are:

Dania Bakour, Aaliyah Fernandez-Robson and Laksia Pratheepan

The House Colour for Seacole is purple.

House Champions

  • 2018-2019: Bronte
  • 2017-2018: Curie
  • 2016-2017: Austen
  • 2015-2016: Seacole
  • 2014-2015: Hepworth
  • 2013-2014: Franklin
  • 2012-2013: Franklin
  • 2011-2012: Hepworth

House Charities 2021-2022

Each House has a charity that it is raising money and awareness for throughout the year, but in particular during their House Charity Weeks.  Each House has the target to raise £1,000 for their selected charity.  This year they are supporting:

Get in touch

HR Department

Sandridgebury Lane

St Albans



01727 853134